our busy life

I have been terrible at updating this…. already.

The truth is, this past weekend our plans fell pretty short of crazy. But there were some pretty awesome movies we finally got around to seeing.

Prior to the weekend, I finished my first week at work (woo!!). Needless to say, getting back into the routine of getting up at 6:15/30 & ready to leave by 7:45 sort of kicked my butt. It was also sort of a stressful week as I got use to the 30 minute commute (occasionally longer) in crazy going downtown traffic (then crazy coming back north traffic on the way home). Today was day 6 of the drive & I am already getting braver though. The commute is not terrible, it is only 11 miles so on the rare occasion there is not much traffic I can breeze home in 15-20 minutes, but 30 is about average. People drive like maniacs, but I am learning how to cope with that – it is not defensive driving down here, it is intensive driving. Besides the drive, I am loving the company. It feels SO GOOD to be working with adult, productive, professional, & caring human beings. I cannot wait to actually get started on my actual work. (Hopefully more this week!!)

So after a bit of a fun filled week of getting into the routine of not having tons of free time, I was ready for a pretty chill weekend. Friday night we went to REI so I could try on some Vibrams (& figure out what size I am), ate some Panera (I LOVE PANERA!! YUM!!) & watched Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. The movie was really good. There were certainly some parts that I thought were overly (& unnecessarily) graphic, but for the most part it was very thrilling & suspense-filled. I am not sure I would watch it again, just because now that I know the ending it sort of takes the thrill away, but it does make me curious about the other movies/books in that series.

Saturday, we went to Alamo Drafthouse to see Chronicle with some friends. I knew very little about what the movie was about going into it. Yet another really good movie. In the beginning, there was a scene that made me nearly jump into Ben’s lap. I certainly jumped a foot out of my chair – at a part of the movie not at all intended to be scary. Yup, I am awesome.

Before the movie we grabbed some half price appetizers & drinks at Cover3. Holy moly was it good food. & good drink (the Strawberry Basil something was to die for) & even the company was not half bad. 😉 If anyone comes to visit us in the near future, we are going to take you there. Just FYI. You might want to start preparing your stomach for the awesomeness now.

Sunday we did nothing. Ok so I knocked a few things off my to-do list & Ben got in a couple hours of video games, but other than that nothing. Oh, except for that nap I took. That absolutely qualified as something. & it was absolutely wonderful.

Ben & I are trying to get around to watching a bunch of those award winning movies we have yet to see. For example, I think Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy is on the list. The only problem is I keep wanting to call it Tinkie Winkie. & that gives me nightmare of the Teletubbies my sister use to be obsessed with watching. If you do not know what they are, your soul remains pure & I recommend you keep it that way. Tree of Life is also on our to watch list. Perhaps this weekend we will get around to watching one of those!!

One thought on “our busy life

  1. Kimwithak says:

    I didn’t really have a desire to see Girl with the Dragon Tattoo until I saw an extended preview for it. I think for someone who hasn’t read the books, the original short previews are just too…dark and pointless?

    Those running sock/shoe things creep me out. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s because I have deformed feet and could never wear them. But they scare me. 🙂

Have something to say?